First time player - Melee Nano?

So Im a first time player just starting to design my first character in Numenera and Im wondering, how hard is it to make a melee Nano? Im still learning rules as I investigate matters.  Might seems important to take more damage, but speed seems pretty key too- especially if I do 'who murders" to obtain sneak attack. What are the best melee options if I want to use "magic" to enhance my own prowess in combat? "Strong Nano who Murders"? "who masters weapons"?

I appreciate any and all advice, and I am super excited to play Numenera!

{edit} Forgot to mention we are only using the core book as we have no other books yet

(forgive me if this is the wrong forum for this thread)

Comments

• My two pennyworth:

If you want a close-up, hand-to-hand nano, I thoroughly recommend getting the Character Options book, if only for the ability to make a Tough Nano Who Needs No Weapons - with the Far Step (essentially long-distance teleportation) and Sculpt Flesh (shape hands/teeth into more effective combat weapons) esoteries, you can feasibly leap into hand-to-hand combat doing 6 damage, with 2 Armour - though it'll cost you a bit of Intellect.

Though really, the best bit about this build is the 'powering-up' scene:

NPC 1: "What's that nano doing waaaaay over there?"
    [burst of energy as nanites reshape matter around the nano]
    NPC 2: "Odd. What's that in his/her hands?"
    [flash of energy - nano suddenly standing right nearby]
    NPC 2: "Oh. Crap."

:)

In terms of the core book, the Tough descriptor is still a good choice (that +1 armour is handy for a nano)

If you want to have the flavour of enhancing attacking prowess through strange 'magical' techniques, the 'Focuses Mind over Matter' focus is a pretty good one - several of the Focus abilities lend themselves to use in combat; you'll be able to activate Speed Defense at no cost right off the bat with your Intellect edge.