Numenera using another setting

edited June 2015 in Rules and General Q&A
I'm very new to Numenera, and I still haven't read it all. I am just wondering: Is Numenera dependant to it's setting? What if I want to play a common medieval fantasy setting? Can cyphers and artifacts have another less sci-fi skin? (potions, scrolls, expendable magic items, perhaps?)

Are the monsters/npcs customizable as well?

The setting I'm planning to run is Zendikar (Magic the Gathering plane), which fits perfectly to the discovery essence of Numenera.
Tagged:

Comments

• the cypher system could easily be used in that way. the beauty of the system is you just pick a world you want to run it in and go. nano powers would become magic, and cyphers and artifacts would become scrolls and magic items
  • I'm actually using it to play a version of the classic Dragonlance campaign, albeit set in a very Ninth-World ish setting. Still, it would just be a different type of redressing to run it as a classic fantasy game instead. 
  • Yes, you can make cyphers into more traditional magical items, but keep in mind but their availability and quantity limitation. 

In Numenera, cyphers are everywhere (almost), so the party feels free to use up their one shot devices rapidly.  If you are using a magic device replacement, then where do your players easily get new ones?  If you change you devices away from being one-shot items, then you loose the rapid change of abilities that the system provides.  You might think the change unimportant, but with some cyphers more useful then others, the change keeps the players from being continuously over or under powered. Thus making new cypher design easier as well; they don't have to well balanced with all the other cyphers.

Also, the cypher system limits how many devices anyone can carry by making them interact dangerously if you have too many.  It's mentioned in the book as a game balance issue, so you should include it into your magic system.