Power Is Not Wasted?

Hello everyone.  My name is Jim and I am new to Numenera.  I think this is an awesome game and will be running a campaign in early April.  I will probably have a ton of questions for you all, so please bear with me.  :)

At the bottom of page 91 of the core rule book it says, "If the attack misses, the power is not wasted, and you can try again each round as your action until you hit the target, use another ability, or take a different action that requires you to use your hands."
Can somebody please clear up what this statement means?  Thank you.

Comments

• I agree that it isn't very clear. My interpretation is that it applies to the Action and the use of Effort (refer to the paragraph following it; although this isn't clear either.)

Example:
    I attack a bandit in melee with a verred and use Effort (Might) to hit. I miss, but still spend the Might.
    Next Round, I can attack the bandit again and use Effort (Speed) to increase damage. I hit, spend the Speed and hurt the bandit.
    Next Round, I attack and use Effort (Might) to increase damage.

• jimofpeace -- we've interpreted it to work like "holding the charge" in DND 3.5e, where if you missed with a touch spell, your hand remained charged with the spell until you hit, touched something else, or cast another spell.

The wording of the two rules are very similar.

We essentially combined the statement you quoted with the sentence immediately preceding it: "Effects that require touching the target require a melee attack."

So, taken together the rule would read: 

"Effects that require touching the target require a melee attack. If the attack misses, the power is not wasted, and you can try again each round as your action until you hit the target, use another ability, or take a different action that requires you to use your hands."

We also interpreted that this rule only applies to the points used to activate a power  and not to any effort you might apply to the attack.