XP/Intrusions per... turn?

The core rulebook has rough recommendations for about how often you should be using GM intrusions and rewarding XP per gaming session, which is great. However, it's my first time GMing (anything, much less Numenera), and I'm running a play-by-email game. Since we don't have "sessions" and each action can take quite a long time because of delays involved in various party members checking in to the mailing list, it's hard to determine what would constitute a "session".

What I'm curious about, then, is if anybody has any rough metrics that could relate these concepts of play time. A vague sense of how many turns are in a game session would work, for example. Ideal would be about how many turns elapse between awarding XP or using an intrusion, but I don't expect anybody to have a good sense of turns, since probably a lot of the non-combat action when played around a table doesn't get broken down into turns.