Comprehension Cypher use with animals

Reading through the cyphers as a Numenera newb I thought the comprehension cypher was really cool, and when it said it worked on creatures that don't even normally have a language I thought it would be neat to stick one on an animal companion or pet so they'd be able to understand the Truth (or whatever language the player speaks).

When the description said they are highly coveted by beast trainers, I started thinking more and wondered if this meant it works the other way and allows someone to understand the "language" of creatures with no language. That didn't really make sense to me, but it seems that since it's a permanent device once used, it wouldn't really be any more useful to a beast trainer than to anyone else, right?

I mean, if my dog can understand English, and it already is inclined to do what I ask (because i'm the alpha), then why would I need a trainer for him? And if an animal isn't inclined to do what someone wants, then understanding what they say won't necessarily change that. SO Iwas trying to figure out why it would be so interesting to trainers (more than anyone else I mean).

Has anyone used one of these cyphers in a campaign? How did it get used?

I'm just looking for thoughts on the device, since I'm considering giving one to a player to see what he does.

Comments

• What if you want a more nuanced answer from your creature than "LOOK I FOUND A THING!" or "SQUIRREL!"  That's what this does.  I want my creature to look for the thing, retrieve the thing when it finds the thing, and not be distracted by the squirrel.  With the comprehension disk, there is the possibility that I can ask him to do all that and more.  The ability to give my creature the understanding of a D&D familiar or give me the ability to understand what it is saying I think is truly invaluable. 

"Timmy is stuck in the well?"