Where to start to get players excited and "feel the weird"

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the whole GM thing, let alone Numenera. In the past I runned a game or two for my gaming group and we spend a long time creating characters. Well it was pretty difficult to start the creation itself, because the players simply didn't want to. But after we run the game they were talking about it for hours afterwards(in a good way :D ). Not sure if I'll play this one with the same players or I'll try to look for new ones with a bit more "enthusiasm" but I want to make sure they'll get the feel of Numenera and the weirdness, with characters that I prepare so they will just to choose and play. So far I came with ideas for 3 characters of each type. I will hopefully edit the post as I progress with their stats, backstory etc. The most appealing adventure so far for me is Into the Violet Vale, as it has that weirdness in it, but if you can suggest another alternative that is great and would fullfil my needs I'm open to it. So here are the characters so far (suggestions are welcomed):

<b>#1 Graceful glaive who performs feats of strength</b>

The idea is for quick and agile "ancient greek"-like athlete that can just wreck hawoc on the battlefield.

#2 Drunk glaive who fuses flesh and steel

Glaive as a living weapon who needs to get a sip of alcohol every now and then to handle the modifications that she's doing to her body.

#3 Doomed glaive who throws with deadly accuracy

I wanted to have some kind of "ranged" character, and a thrower seemed like nice turn on classic archer character, with doomed descriptor as flavour to the RP aspect.

#4 - Wealthy jack who controls beasts

Here I was deciding between wealthy and noble, both can work for a character that even when he has lots of money lives a rugged life in the wilderness with his companion, but if needed he can get things done, either with money or influance

#5 - Charming jack who exists in two places at once