NPC: level 7 in knowledge or craft. ... What does it mean?

Ok, so I was reading of Quanon, the  super duper expert of numenera devices of Malevich. Now,  the description says: level 6, 7 in numenera's knowledge and crafting. What the hell? Pcs always roll,  if I find similar descriptions,  what they mean? The target of a level 7 is 21, so does it mean that the players roll to identify a numenera asking Quanon and  he has greater risk of fail than a level 2 apprentice? How do I use this info?  I'm sorry if the question seems trivial or stupid,  but I'm rather new to numenera (here in Italy it arrived jus a  couple of months ago.). Please help me :)

Comments

• How you interpret the information provided in the book is ultimately up to you, but here is my take on it, sort of based on the six step, "How to Play Numenera" section on page 84 of the core rule book.

In any character action that involves a NPC the first thing you need to determine is the NPC's role in the action, namely, whether their role is adversarial in nature or one of assistance. If the later then the NPC's level means little to the outcome of the character action. It is only when the nature of the interaction is one of conflict, between the PC and the NPC, does the level take on any meaning. This should be done as part of step 3.

The fourth step has the player and the Gm determining if anything about the character, and here I would change the wording to be "all characters involved in the character action", can modify the difficulty up or down.

The bold part of 'level 6, 7 in numenera’s knowledge and crafting' Should be interpreted as 'training in knowledge of numenera and of its crafting', and used as either a sort of anti-asset if the nature of the action is adversarial or, if it is one of assistance, in conjunction with the helping rules on page 101 of the core rule book.